

CHAMPAIGN-URBANA MASS TRANSIT DISTRICT DECENNIAL COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT EFFICIENCY AGENDA

Wednesday, April 24, 2024 - 3:00 p.m.

North Banquet Rm, 4th Floor, Illinois Terminal 45 East University Avenue, Champaign

Committee Members:

Dick Barnes - Chair Tomas Delgado Phil Fiscella George Friedman Karl Gnadt Alan Nudo Donna Tanner-Harold Sharif Ullah

Advisory:

Alyx Parker, Corporate Attorney

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Audience Participation
- 5. Approval of Minutes dated March 27, 2024
- 6. Final Presentation by Illinois Business Consulting (IBC)
- 7. Next Steps
 - A. The Decennial Committee will review the report before submittal to Champaign County
- 8. Survey of Attending Residents
- 9. Adjournment



Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District (MTD) Decennial Committee on Local Government Efficiency

MINUTES - SUBJECT TO REVIEW AND APPROVAL

6 DATE: Wednesday, March 27, 2024

7 TIME: 3:00 p.m.

PLACE: Illinois Terminal, 45 East University Avenue, Champaign, IL

The video of this meeting can be found at:

https://www.youtube.com/CUMTD

13 Members:

5

8

9

10 11

12

Present	Absent
Dick Barnes (Chair)	
Tomas Delgado	
Phil Fiscella	
George Friedman	
Karl Gnadt	
Alan Nudo	
	Donna Tanner-Harold
Sharif Ullah	

1415 Advisory:

Present	Absent
	Alyx Parker, Legal Counsel

MTD Staff:

Amy Snyder (Deputy Managing Director), Michelle Wright (Finance Director), Josh Berbaum (Maintenance and Facilities Director), Ashlee McLaughlin (External Affairs Director), Jacinda Crawmer (Human Resources Director), Ryan Blackman (Tech Services Director), Brendan Sennett (Safety & Training Director), Jay Rank (Operations Director), and Brittany Meeker (Clerk)

21 22 23

16

17

18 19

20

24

25 26

27

28 29

30 31

32 33

34 35 36

37 38

39

40 41 Others Present: Illinois Business Consulting (IBC), Tim Bannon (Executive Director of Willard Airport),
Jayne DeLuce (Vice-Chair Willard Advisory Board), Carly McCrory-McKay (Chair Willard
Advisory Board), Jack Penning (Volaire Aviation), Zach Xavier (UIUC Journalism Student)

MINUTES

1. Call to Order

Chairman Barnes called meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Present (7) – Barnes, Delgado, Fiscella, Friedman, Gnadt, Nudo, Ullah Absent (1) - Tanner-Harold

A quorum was declared present.

3. Approval of Agenda

MOTION by Mr. Fiscella to approve the agenda as distributed; seconded by Mr. Ullah. Upon vote, the MOTION CARRIED.

4. Audience Participation

None

5. Approval of Minutes

A. Decennial Committee on Local Government Efficiency Meeting - January 31, 2024

MOTION by Mr. Fiscella to approve the minutes of the January 31, 2024, MTD Decennial Committee on Local Government Efficiency meeting as distributed; seconded by Mr. Friedman. Upon vote, the MOTION CARRIED.

Chairman Barnes asked for a motion to take a recess at 3:02 p.m. MOTION by Mr. Fiscella; seconded by Mr. Friedman. Upon vote, the MOTION CARRIED.

The meeting reconvened at 3:50 p.m.

6. Midpoint Presentation by Illinois Business Consulting (IBC)

The Illinois Business Consulting (IBC) group from the University of Illinois gave their midpoint presentation on their primary research, which includes internal interviews of MTD employees. Through their primary research, IBC has determined four staffing Key Performance Indicators (KPI) to perform in-depth analysis to address the staffing inefficiencies. These KPIs include Employee Turnover Rate, Absenteeism Rate, Employee Satisfaction, and Training and Development. Additionally, IBC plans to continue studying the correlation between ridership and economic impact to maximize service to the community.

7. Next Steps

The next Decennial Committee meeting will be on April 24, 2024 at 3:00 p.m., immediately preceding the regular Board Meeting

8. Survey of Attending Residents

The clerk distributed a survey to the attendees in the audience for input on matters discussed at the meeting.

9. Adjournment

MOTION by Mr. Friedman to adjourn the meeting; seconded by Mr. Nudo. Upon vote, the MOTION CARRIED.

Mr. Barnes adjourned the meeting at 4:17 p.m.
Submitted by:

Clerk
Approved:
Decennial Committee Chair